Rough Waters (pt. 2)

Life, Random Thoughts

This Fall Break I ended up staying in Dallas because my plans to visit my friend in Denver fell through. Overall, I am not so upset that I didn’t do anything exciting like go to ACL or travel back home. It was night to have my apartment all to myself and just be in solitude. Both Saturday and Sunday I FaceTimed with one of my best guy friends, Jacques, from back home. He goes to school at Wash U but was back in Cleveland to get chemo and radiation done. Jacques has RMS which is a type of cancer that attacks the tissues in the body. This is his third round of the cancer coming back and quite honestly it scares me. On Saturday we FaceTimed for about 5 hours just catching up and figuring out what we are going to do when all of our friends come home for break. But every hour or so he was constantly being check on by nurses to make sure he was ok and giving him medication and pain relievers. I didn’t really want to talk about the cancer but instead wanted to keep his mood lifted since he had just gone out of treatment and wanted to get his mind off of it. His hair is growing back which is a step but he doesn’t think it will stay for long because of more treatments in the future. I always have to come up with creative ways to keep Jacques thinking about something else even if it requires me staying up late talking to him.

Leave a Reply

